Programs Blog News What's New RMA USDA USDA En Español Contact Us Field Offices About RMA

You are: Home / News / News Archives

News Archives

John Shea, 202-690-0437
Ron Tilly (816) 926-1337


WASHINGTON, Aug 31, 2007 - The Risk Management Agency reminds producers that September 30, 2007, is the sales closing date for many fall-planted crops. Since September 30 falls on a weekend, applications and changes to existing crop insurance coverage must be submitted no later than October 1, 2007. Crops that may need to be insured by this date include:

  • Alfalfa Seed
  • Barley
  • Canola
  • Cultivated Wild Rice
  • Forage Production
  • Mint (acreage insured under the winter coverage option)
  • Oats
  • Potatoes
  • Rye
  • Sugarcane
  • Wheat

Sales closing dates vary by crop, state, and county. Producers should consult a crop insurance agent to discuss their insurance options.

States and Crops with a September 30, 2007,
Sales Closing Date

 Crop States
 Alfalfa Seed

Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington, Wyoming


Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia



 Cultivated Wild Rice

California, Minnesota

 Forage Production

Alaska, Colorado, Illinois, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Wisconsin, Wyoming


Idaho, Indiana, Oregon, Washington, Wisconsin


Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia



 Rangeland (GRP)

Montana, Wyoming


Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas


Florida, Louisiana, Texas


Alabama, Arkansas, California (4 counties), Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming