

MGR-17-001: 2017 Crop Year County Spring Crops Program Expansion

View PDF

Date

January 13, 2017

To

All Approved Insurance Providers

All Risk Management Agency Field Offices

All Other Interested Parties

From

Brandon C. Willis, Administrator /s/ Michael Alston, for

Subject

2017 Crop Year County Spring Crops Program Expansion

Background

The Federal Crop Insurance Corporation (FCIC) has expanded the number of counties where certain crops are insurable for the 2017 crop year. The following attachment, 2017 Expansion of Existing Spring Crops Programs, lists the expansion by crop, state, and county for permanently-established (non-pilot) programs. The Risk Management Agency is continuing the policy of expanding crop insurance programs, particularly where interest by producers has been shown of providing producers the opportunity and responsibility for managing their own risk for their farming operations.

Action

Approved Insurance Providers should advise agents and in turn producers of the expanded county crop programs for the 2017 crop year to allow producers the opportunity to purchase crop insurance.

2017 EXPANSION OF EXISTING SPRING CROPS PROGRAM

Crop	State	Counties
Cabbage	New York	Genesse, Niagra
Corn	Louisiana	LaSalle
Corn	Texas	Cochran, Lynn, Oldham
Hybrid Corn Seed	Indiana	Noble, Steuben
Peanuts	Arkansas	Craighead, Mississippi
Peanuts	Florida	Union
Peanuts	Mississippi	Carroll, Panola, Tate, Yazoo
Popcorn	Illinois	Bureau, Henry
Popcorn	Kentucky	Hopkins, Webster
Processing Beans	New York	Madison, Onondaga, Oswego
Soybeans	Florida	Columbia, Lafayette
Soybeans	Louisiana	Tangipahoa
Soybeans	Nebraska	Arthur, Banner, Box Butte, Kimball, McPherson, Morrill, Scotts Bluff, Sheridan, Sioux
Soybeans	North Dakota	Burke