Programs Blog News What's New RMA USDA USDA En Español Contact Us Field Offices About RMA

You are: Home / News / News Archives

News Archives

John Shea, 202-690-0437


WASHINGTON, Aug 28, 2008 - The Risk Management Agency reminds producers that September 30, 2008 is the sales closing date for many fall-planted crops. Crops that may need to be insured by this date include:

  • Alfalfa Seed
  • Barley
  • Canola
  • Cultivated Wild Rice
  • Forage Production
  • Mint (acreage insured under the winter coverage option)
  • Oats
  • Potatoes
  • Rye
  • Sugarcane
  • Wheat

Sales closing dates vary by crop, state, and county; for more specifics, please consult RMA's Actuarial Documents browser. Producers should consult a crop insurance agent to discuss their insurance options.

States and Crops with a September 30, 2008
Sales Closing Date

 Crop States
 Alfalfa Seed

Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington, Wyoming


Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia



 Cultivated Wild Rice

California, Minnesota

 Forage Production

Alaska, Colorado, Illinois, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Wisconsin, Wyoming


Idaho, Indiana, Oregon, Washington, Wisconsin


Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia




Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas


Florida, Louisiana, Texas


Alabama, Arkansas, California (4 counties), Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming